Narratiive Tags - Khaleej Times Desktop
Global Sports

Kamna wins Tour de France 16th stage; Roglic retains lead

Reuters/Villard de Lans (France)
Filed on September 15, 2020
BORA-Hansgrohe rider Lennard Kamna of Germany celebrates after winning the 16th stage. - Reuters

The 24-year-old German took advantage of Ecuadorian Carapaz's momentary loss of focus at the top of the last climb.

Lennard Kamna claimed his first Tour de France victory when he outwitted Giro d'Italia champion Richard Carapaz to win the 16th stage, a 164-km ride from La Tour du Pin on Tuesday.

The 24-year-old German took advantage of Ecuadorian Carapaz's momentary loss of focus at the top of the last climb of the day to go solo and finished one minute 27 seconds ahead after charging down in the descent.

Swiss Sebastien Reichenbach took third place, 1:56 off the pace as Slovenian Primoz Roglic retained the overall leader's yellow jersey.

Defending champion Egan Bernal, whose hopes of winning the race fell away when he cracked in Sunday's 15th stage, was dropped from the main bunch in the ascent to Saint-Nizier, apparently suffering from back pains.

It was a day to forget for Ineos-Grenadiers as Carapaz had to settle for second after two brutal attacks from the breakaway group in the decisive climb had left his rivals in the red.

But Kamna, who narrowly missed out on a stage win last week when he lost a two-man sprint against Colombian Dani Martinez in Puy Mary, went solo just when Carapaz was recovering from his effort at the top.

Thursday's 17th stage is a brutal mountain trek in the Alps, over 170-km and ending in Meribel at the top of the Col de la Loze, 2,304 metres above sea level.


Stage 16 of the Tour de France, a 164-km run between La Tour-du-Pin and Villard-de-Lans on Tuesday:

1. Lennard Kamna (GER/BOR) 4hr 12min 52sec, 2. Richard Carapaz (ECU/INE) at 1:27, 3. Sebastien Reichenbach (SUI/FDJ) 1:56, 4. Pavel Sivakov (RUS/INE) 2:34, 5. Simon Geschke (GER/CCC) 2:35, 6. Warren Barguil (FRA/ARK) 2:37, 7. Tiesj Benoot (BEL/SUN) 2:41, 8. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SUN) 2:47, 9. Quentin Pacher (FRA/VCC) 2:51, 10. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/DEC) 2:54, 11. Alberto Bettiol (ITA/EF1) 5:12, 12. Carlos Verona (ESP/MOV) 5:15, 13. Pierre Rolland (FRA/VCC) 5:18, 14. Matteo Trentin (ITA/CCC) 6:11, 15. Imanol Erviti (ESP/MOV) 6:11, 16. Andrey Amador (CRC/INE) 6:11, 17. Romain Sicard (FRA/TDE) 10:46, 18. Winner Anacona (COL/ARK) 10:46, 19. Casper Pedersen (DEN/SUN) 16:09, 20. Miguel Angel Lopez (COL/AST) 16:48

ERROR: Macro /ads/dfp-ad-article-new is missing!
MORE FROM Khaleej Times
CurrentRequestUnmodified: /international/americas/ali-ali-the-greatest-makes-his-final-journey macro_action: article, macro_profile: , macro_adspot:
KT App Download
khaleejtimes app

All new KT app
is available
for download:

khaleejtimes - android khaleejtimes - ios khaleejtimes - HUAWEI AppGallery